Sharpening the Intellect


imagesIntellect is an important function. It has the power to discriminate, to decide “I don’t want this, but I want this, this is more valuable to me.” It has that power in every moment. It has the power to analyze: “Why don’t I want this? Why do I want this?” So it can be sure about what it wants. It has the power to reflect: “I made this decision before, should I stay with it? Or should I improve it?”  There is the power to introspect: “Let me observe how we have played so far. Let me see if I need to change tactics a little bit.”

A dull intellect is one that is pulled by the thoughts and the emotions wherever they go, like a lion being controlled by a mouse.The ego’s intention should be, “How can I make my intellect sharp?  How can I get my discrimination strong? How can I get my powers of analysis strong? How can I make my reflections worthwhile? How can I have a powerful introspection?”

So intellect needs to be sharp, then the mind can be trained easily, and then the emotions can be trained easily and the vitality can be worked to the level it needs to be and then the body can be taken care of. 

That can only happen by learning to stay with “what is” and learning from the experience of “what is.” Even though dull, beginning to use the power you have, so if you reflect now on your life, there is a lot of learning from the experiences that you have. That is the only way the intellect can learn. Of course it can begin to seek in the space for help, for guidance. But it has to stay with “what is” and it has to develop its expertise from experience. Sri Vasudeva

 

Leave a Reply

