Arrest The Mind’s Habit Of Concocting Stories


We are fast approaching the end of the year! How quickly this year has gone by. But the year is not over yet, we still have time. Where can we put our focus so that we make the rest of 2013 really meaningful?

We can use the cues from our environment to inspire us to centre in that consciousness space within. The weather is cooling and there is a natural turning inwards in nature as the trees and animals slow down, eventually going into dormancy. 

I want to imbibe that coolness to slow down the activity of my mind. I want to arrest it’s habit of concocting stories that take me away from the fullness of the present moment. Those stories are about the past or the future and distract me from the beauty of the present.

As I feel the coolness on my skin I will come back to seeing and hearing what is right before me. Yes this practice is a simple yet profound one, that fuels my passion for keeping the meditative awareness throughout the day. Now I’m excited to see what my day will bring.

How about you, how are you using these last weeks of 2013?

Wishing you a day full of presents :).

 

7 Responses to Arrest The Mind’s Habit Of Concocting Stories

  1. Pingback: Dropping The Baggage | Chanmadhavi's Blog

  2. Henk says:

    Namaskar Madhavi, what a delight that you are back on your blog.

    The last weeks of the year… I wasn’t that far yet :), the end of the year, but it’s true. Thinking about your message the last days a few thoughts came up. It remembered me of the goals I set at the beginning of the year. I have grown, compared to the year before! Keep on growing I would say, more steps can be made.

    Before your post I remembered a post of yours with last fall and winter, how nature is changing. I noticed I feel less the urge to be very active outdoors as the days are shorter. I still go for daily short runs with the dog, but longer cycles to work are more rare compared to summer. I feel more inspired by the sun and warmth to be more active outside. A thought counteracts if I am not getting lazy…

    The mind and it’s activity… well it can be active all year. Should the mind and body be “cooler” and less active in the winter? Being in the present is always good. There are countless possibilities to be inspired to present moment awareness, a bird singing in the spring, coolness in the winter, beautifull leaves in the fall, the sun in the summer.

    How will I end this year? Setting new goals, growing more, making and end-sprint for this years goals. I feel inspiration inside.

    Thank you, Madhavi, all my love, Henk

    • Chan Madhavi says:

      Oh I like the end spring to fulfilling the goals of 2013 🙂

  3. Maria DiGiantommaso says:

    Namascar Madhavi,
    I am making the best of 2013 by continuing to grow and learn who I am on the inside.
    Always enjoying your blog. Thank you for sharing and inspiring us.

    • Chan Madhavi says:

      Maria, you are right there is always something new to learn about in the inner space. Thanks for sharing.

  4. DALE MOORE says:

    Welcome back Madhavi, Thank you for sharing this inspiring blog, I have been very busy and will continue until Christmas but it is a great reminder. I find when I am conscious and in the moment I enjoy the days and am thankful and happy because I feel I have help and am not alone. Love, Dale

    Date: Fri, 8 Nov 2013 11:21:39 +0000 To: mooredale91@sympatico.ca

    • Chan Madhavi says:

      Hi Dale Yes we are definitely in a more beautiful inner state when we are consciously engaging with life. luv madhavi

      On Fri, Nov 8, 2013 at 7:50 AM, Chanmadhavi's Blog wrote:

      > New comment on your post “Arrest The Mind’s Habit Of Concocting Stories” > Author : DALE MOORE (IP: 65.55.116.73 , 65.55.116.73) > E-mail : mooredale91@sympatico.ca > URL : > Whois : http://whois.arin.net/rest/ip/65.55.116.73 > Comment: > Welcome back Madhavi, Thank you for sharing this inspiring blog, I have > been very busy and will continue until Christmas but it is a great > reminder. I find when I am conscious and in the moment I enjoy the days > and am thankful and happy because I feel I have help and am not alone. > Love, Dale > >

Leave a Reply

