Being open to evolve


In yesterday’s post I was exploring the practice of keeping an attitude of “maybe”. While it is possible to follow a more open road with that attitude I saw a little trap there. I could project negative thoughts onto others. I could begin to think I could read someone’s mind and intentions and react without checking with them to see what they are actually thinking. I may even believe I know or I can predict how someone or how a situation might unfold. I could begin to believe in “maybes” that are unpleasant, intimidating, contracting. Do you ever see yourself doing that? So I will catch myself when I start playing the role of fortune-teller ๐Ÿ™‚

What I mean is, to keep open I notice I have to lightly hold ย the possibilities that arise in my mind leaving a lot of room for other possibilities to show themselves. ย I’m wondering how I could test if I am actually doing that.

Here is one possible way. I observe that when I have an idea and I share it with someone, I am open when I value the response the other makes. I’m open if my idea evolves. But if at the end of the day I’m telling myself the same story, in the same words then I need to have a second look at how much attention I paid to the signals, to the guidance from the wisdom field that was coming my way via my conversations with my world. When I say conversations I also include reading, observing nature and all the others ways I pick up information from the world around me.

Even if I am reflecting on my own or discussing with someone an experience from the past, the story of that experience changes if I am really in the now, if I am really open. If I pay attention I will see the experience with new eyes, after all I am different now in this moment and if I am talking to a friend then theirs is a fresh perspective.

When I am open I feel anticipation, joy, expansive. When I am not open I feel uninspired.

Today I will pay attention to how my ideas evolve during the day and I’ll also pay attention to my feelings. I want to see what new avenues may become apparent and I hope to learn more about staying open. How do new ideas come to you about being open?

6 Responses to Being open to evolve

  1. It’s amazing how one simple understanding can turn into an enlightened perception.
    March on brave one…

    • Chan Madhavi says:

      Thanks Christopher ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Nathalie says:

    Thanks for this great insight. Reading your blog yesterday, I realized that I forgot to be open to infinite possibilities. I catch myself being closed when I get unconfortable in a vicious circle that I am in. So I said to myself , trust and the universe will provide an answer and I was paying attention , I got my answer. Thanks for reminding me to be open.

    • Chan Madhavi says:

      Glad you got your answer Nat, good thing you were paying attention so you could spot it.

  3. Lee Majewski says:

    I like your post, thanks Madhavi…
    My experience is that if I stay away from judgements – it allows me to be here and now. And then I have no need to analyze anything because I am in constant now. The ‘intellectual’ process stops as I am observing myself in the now.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Chan Madhavi says:

      Thaks Lee. Nice reminder about making the choice to stay in the now.

Leave a Reply

