Expansion of Consciousness – Spring story of two birds


We’ve been talking about ways to expand the consciousness and the last time we talked about how someone we admire could be a catalyst for our growth. Today it feels like spring is in the air and I see a bird on the tree outside my window. This brings to mind the story of the two birds from the Mundaka Upanishad.

In my mind the story unfolds …. There are two birds who live on the same tree, one at the very top and the other on a lower branch. The lower one looks up in admiration of the other one, thinking the other radiates so much peace and contentment. The one on the lower branch spends it’s day busy looking for food tasting both bitter and sweet fruits. When it comes home it’s stomach is full but it still is not as happy as the other bird seems to be. It thought, “Oh that other bird looks so serene”. Everyday he would think about that other bird at the top of the tree and one day he resolved to get closer to that bird. When he got home at the end of the day he hopped closer and closer to that other bird, drawn irresistibly by the radiance of the other. The closer he got, the more delight he felt, he just couldn’t stop. The most amazing thing happens as he reaches the top branch, he realizes that bird at the top is none other than himself!

A beautiful story, no? “Like two birds of golden plumage, inseparable companions, the individual self and the immortal Self are perched on the branches of the selfsame tree. The former tastes of the sweet and bitter fruits of the tree; the latter, tasting of neither, calmly observes.” (Mundaka Upanishad 3:1:1).

So during the day when I experience the ups and downs of life, bewildered, suffering, hungry for more; I think of this story, recognizing that I am identifying with the bird on the lower branch of the tree but reminding myself I am also that bird that sits in serenity at the top of the tree. I am that Self that exists beyond judgement of good and bad, that lives and acts in flow, inspired and carried in every moment by Grace.

Spiritual books are a great source of inspiration for expansion of consciousness, don’t you find?. Tell me about your favorite source of inspiration. It seems to me that everything I see outside reminds me of the sacred. How about you?

One Response to Expansion of Consciousness – Spring story of two birds

  1. Henk says:

    Namaskar,

    I love this story, reading it for the first time. Very inspiring. To realise I am both, the lower and the Higher.

    Spiritual books, this blog, reading, seeing, hearing Vasudeva.

    Seeing boxers or rugbyers are inspiring to me on a physical level. Reading books about food and body, tasting fruits are inspiring for treating the body right.
    The stars are very inspiring to me, to expand my consciousness to the globe and beyond.
    A calm and very slow breath is very inspiring to maintain the peace.
    Seeing a baby inspires me to be in the now, not thinking or experiencing the past or future.
    Programmes about nature inspires me not too waste resources and to take the bike to work.

    Indeed inspiration is everywhere. The last 2 weeks the birds in Holland are singing again in the early morning for instance. A nice extension of a meditation 🙂

    All my love, Henk

Leave a Reply

