Mahashivratri – Great Night of Shiva


We are approaching the Great Night of Shiva on Sunday February 19th. In preparation for that night if you read my post from last year you will see how I explored the chakras during chanting.

I plan to watch the Blue Star program starting at 8:00pm EST. It’s a great opportunity to experience the power of mantra repetition in a strong collective field.

I plan to observe myself as much as possible during that night, to notice the collective field, the way the energy changes during the night, the growth of the inner silence, the sweetness of the sacred inner space.

One of my favorite affirmations is “I am consciousness and bliss”. For me Shiva is synonymous with blissful awareness so I want to see how the chanting, talks and meditation that night will affect my experience of this affirmation.

What are your spiritual aspirations for the Great Night of Shiva?

3 Responses to Mahashivratri – Great Night of Shiva

  1. Victoria says:

    Thank you for this Madhavi. I have not yet gone back to last year’s posts on this but I have been thinking about your guidance about being more focused in the chanting, in terms of being clear about what we want to let go of and what we want to make space for. I have to whittle down my very long list! One of the areas that I need to have a strategy for is my body. Last year, I was doing fairly well up until about 3am, and then had major challenges with tiredness, which I did not respond to positively i.e. I got all stressed and despondent when I could have perhaps been more loving to my body and done something proactive, like going for a little walk, fresh air and a hot drink, as opposed to being a martyr and feeling like I was “failing.” Perhaps my starting intention could be to have a positive and empowering night from start to finish!
    Love and thanks
    Victoria x

    • Chan Madhavi says:

      So will you observe the body, noticing early as the vitality flags so that the body doesn’t have to “shout out” to you? 🙂

      • Victoria says:

        That sounds like a very good idea, in which case I can make a preemptive response, as opposed to a desperate reaction!

Leave a Reply

