Top Ten Spiritual Highlights for 2011


Image source: USATODAY.com

‘Tis the season for making top ten lists! Well you know I believe in going with the flow so how about we consider what were the highlights of our spiritual life for the year? Or shall we list a  special experience for each month of the year? Ha! How about top ten meditations for 2011? I know, we could review our spiritual practices that we’ve explored. Oh, how about favorite blog posts?

I made a list of highlights for the year. It wasn’t easy at all but it was very useful. In doing it I realized some of what I struggled with earlier in the year has now been integrated in myself and not an issue anymore. I also began to see the strategies that work for me in dealing with challenging situations ( the highlights had to do with overcoming challenges). As I reviewed the year I could see more of the big picture, how those challenges fit a larger pattern within myself.

You get my point…no matter what’s going on around us, it can support our spiritual growth. As we follow top ten count downs at this time of year I hope you will feel inspired to make your own top ten list of your spiritual life. Have fun with it!

3 Responses to Top Ten Spiritual Highlights for 2011

  1. Henk says:

    What an inspirational message! In contemplating the top ten (or a few at least) mediations or experiences, it made me think of my growth and if I have grown at all :). I can see some steps forward and that excites me. Apparently it was in my system before to have an ‘excellent’ meditation without guidance before or being loving when my wife makes remarks or experiencing the depth of Vissudha. To me those are treasures, I am very gratefull for. Thank you, Madhavi, as a lot of your blogs inspired me to come to this point. I can see steps ahead for the coming year and I’m very excited to see where I am the end of next year 🙂 or the next hour…

    Thank you, Victoria, for the remark of goals for 2012. That is right up after posting this comment.

  2. Madhavi says:

    I agree building a top ten list of spiritual highlights for the year that just went does take some mulling. Some people use pictures to capture what each month would have meant for them, others look at highlights for each season. There are many ways to review the year. Such a review helps in creating realistic lists for the new year 🙂

  3. Victoria says:

    This is a very exciting post. I read it yesterday and to start with, there was some anxiety that I would not be able to identify anything. But as it mulled around in my head for the day, all sorts of things came up and I found it very inspiring. I am yet to sit down and make a list mind you, but I am looking forward to doing it. I also think of a list of top goals for 2012, or areas that I want to focus on growing in etc. I know that you have talked about plans and having clear intentions and objectives before. The irony is that I am a planner by profession, and love making lists, yet I tend to shy away from personal growth lists for myself. So I have already identified something for my list for 2012 …

Leave a Reply

