Building on Retreat Experiences


Sometimes when we are in an environment that is charged with spiritual awareness we experience an energetic “jolt”. The high energy state of the people in the environment can stimulate us and we catch glimpses of extraordinary rapture and joy.

What we do after these special moments will determine whether these glimpses grow or dissipate.  The memory can uplift us for a time. We can also explore the experience in more detail. For example in the during the recent workshops with Sri Vasudeva in Europe observing what happened with the body before and after events. How did you deal with the pulling of the body towards restlessness, tiredness and sleep? What did you do with the distractions in the inner and outer environment? I particularly like to bring back the blissful state by contemplating my favorite memory. For example if it is a chant or some words that rang inside of me, letting go of those “externals” of the memory and giving my fullest attention to how the energy is manifesting,  the joy, peace, love. I look for the most concentrated, the strongest point of the experience then spreading out to the edges to see where that energy could take me.

If we continue to keep company with those who are strong in their awareness, if we keep our spiritual practice vibrant then there is a greater possibility of these glimpses staying for longer periods with us.

If we don’t give attention to the experience again it may seem to fade away, but it is lying dormant ready for us to take out of the treasure chest of memory, as soon as we become interested once more.

May we remain ever excited about our spiritual growth!

7 Responses to Building on Retreat Experiences

  1. Hina says:

    How timely for me to read this after returning from my own retreat this weekend!

  2. Henk says:

    Aah Madhavi, what a joy I feel in sharing with your blog.

    I would like to share that your 12 day retreat remains very strongly within me. Everyday I start with a 12 minute meditation going through the practices of the 12 day retreat. The new memory of the vast space of silence of Visuddha is very alive and I treasure it deeply. I experience that the practices are deepening. Discipline was growing and growing and with the retreat in Holland the desire for more discipline got very strong.

    Words and stories of people at the retreat that struck me and that I remembered helped me in more difficult moments, I experienced after the retreats. I keep “company” of those wonderful people by sending them my gratituide and love and that brings me more peace.

    Thank you so much for the retreat, Madhavi. The effects are continuing strongly.

    All my love, Henk

    • chanmadhavi says:

      Oh Henk you are such an inspiration!

  3. chanmadhavi says:

    Thanks Madhava, Victoria and Brahmani for appreciating. It is fun to start writing again, so nice to feel the flow of inspiration. I wonder what new areas will emerge to explore together….

  4. Brahmani (Linda) says:

    Thanks Madhavi, as always very inspiring to keep the energy flowing and growing.

  5. Victoria says:

    As Mahava has said, thanks for this timely reminder Madhavi. It is all too easy to let go of those peak experiences rather than savouring and seeking to prolong their treasures!
    All love and thanks
    Victoria x

  6. Paul Madhava says:

    Thank you Madhavi, for sharing this insight. As always, this comes for me at the right time in the right moment. Big hugzz and kzzz

Leave a Reply

