Using the Breath to Fill up with Prana


For the next little while I’d like to share some simple practices that I am doing to deepen my spiritual practice.

Today I want to expand my awareness of prana which is subtle energy and it’s effects on my physical and subtle energy body. I want to observe the impact on my mental and emotional being as I consciously take in more prana.

I am starting by doing conscious breathing; becoming more aware of the inhale and exhaled breath. Breathing in, pausing to observe what is happening in me, breathing out, pausing again to observe. I want more. I want to expand how much I inhale and how much I exhale so as I breathe in, when I feel full, I’m breathing in some more and as I breathe out when I feel empty I am seeking to empty some more.

I am visualizing the breath coming into my system flowing into all the energy channels of my body, a wonderfully cool and revitalizing breath. As the breath leaves I see it washing away all the toxins, all that has challenged me.

Now I am noticing the rhythm of the breath. Aah the rhythm gets smoother and more graceful the more I observe it. I stand back and let the breath happen on it’s own.

With this breath I connect with my Universe. As I breathe out I am sending thoughts of gratitude for all my blessings. I send a wish that all who are seeking may be supported in their journey, all who are challenged may feel comforted, supported. I breath in taking in the nourishment, feeling supported by that infinite Source of goodness and wisdom.

As I focus on the breath that moves through my system I am noticing that my mind is becoming more peaceful. I feel more mentally alert. My emotional energies seem to be naturally rejuvenating. My physical body seems more vital. Marvelous.

Did you try it with me? How was the exercise for you? I intend to do it at different locations today so I will see the impact near running water, in the garden, as I go for a walk, at my desk before I start work. I may do it for different lengths of time to suit the time I have available for it. Have a wonderful prana filled day :). Let me know how it goes.

4 Responses to Using the Breath to Fill up with Prana

  1. Henk says:

    Namaskar,

    Having done this practice the last days, I experience that I am mastering this practice more and more.
    I find that I get emotionally, mentally and physical more in balance in a quicker way. I experience that it is easier doing it sitting, but it is getting easier walking and driving as well.

    I was thinking how long will I keep on doing this. I want to completely master this practice. Do I need a few weeks, a few months? Then I thaught ” why not do it the rest of your life?”. That it isn’t a practice anymore but an habit (like you said Sara), like eating, drinking, going to the toilet and washing in the morning, breathing for 5, 10, 15 minutes is a part now.

    My goal is that I can regain this balance in a few tugs of breathing during the day in action and keeping the tank filled.

    Thank you.

    All my love, Henk

  2. Sara Mohammed says:

    Namaskar,

    This post really couldn’t have come at a better time! Right now, I am trying to solidify a morning practice/routine and this seems like a simple, short but powerful exercise to include.

    I will give it a shot and let you know how it goes. 🙂

    Loving you!

    Sara

  3. Gauri says:

    Namaskar Madhavi,

    I really like your clear and practical approach to how we can use breath- or prana awareness to balance our being at every level. …Going for total well being :)! Very inspiring and useful, thank you.
    love,
    Gauri

  4. Henk says:

    Namaskar,

    The practice is perfect. The first time I did it yesterday afternoon I felt immidiately more vitality in body, more peace in mind and emotions. I did it sitting for 10 minutes. I could feel the after effect for an hour or so. The next hour I kept on doing the practice while in action for short moments (10-30 seconds or so). While walking the dog I did it a few moment, but the effect then is not so powerful. I think it is because I get distracted more easily then and because it was shorter. I printed the practice to put on my workplace. Shorter and longer moments I plan to do today at work and at a walk right now.

    Thank you!

    All my love, Henk

Leave a Reply

