Three Stages on the Journey to Spiritual Power

This spiritual journey to our true power is a journey of stages.  In the Yogic wisdom, these stages are called Granthis, or knots.  There are three stages:

  1. The first one is the very basic spiritual awakening, called Brahma Granthi.  It is the first awakening.  The human being begins to become spiritually conscious, but in a very material sense; worshipping material objects; a very conditional relationship of praying for material things.  But there is recognition that there is a greater power but the ideals become very material: acquiring more; having more children; getting involved in more material pleasures.  We crave for power, to control more and more; very human instincts.  There is a strong pull by the material world, but the spiritual instinct is awakened.  We know that there is more.  We do a lot of worship to the Gods for the material things and our Gods are very material Gods.
  2. On the second stage of the journey, we have to break the knot that is called Vishnu Granthi.  This takes us on another stage, from the Manipura chakra to the Vishuddha chakra. This consciousness involves the Manipura chakra, Anahata chakra and Vishudha chakra. Here, we begin to experience (as a soul) more consciousness, and as a result, more power.  Our worship becomes different: we begin to worship the God of love; we begin to worship the God of vitality.  Our Gods become different and we can feel the existence of more.  But we are still associated with the lower centres; the human world still drives us.  On the journey, as these chakras open up, they do not open up fully to give the full consciousness; they open up partially and allow energies to flow.  So on this part of the journey, there is a lot of worship of a God outside, and still very conditional worship.  We worship so that we can get: get more knowledge; acquire more things in the world; get more pleasure, and we see the arts and music and the expression of the voice.  But we are still troubled by the material things because the goal is still material.  So when material things perish, our happiness is influenced. We still have issues with broken relationships; we still have emotional issues; and we do a lot of praying to an outside God, waiting for its help.  A lot of turmoil can happen at this stage as the soul consciousness is still caught up in the world, and it depends on an outer source for support.
  3. There is a third stage of soul development where we pierce a knot between the eyebrows called the Rudra Granthi.  When this knot is pierced, we begin to be able to see the world differently.  For the first time, we begin to realise that we can be divine; that this God is not outside, but that we are part of this Divine, like a drop in the ocean.  For the first time, we begin to look from a different space, a space of co-creation, where we can be involved in the co-creation or we can identify with divinity.  This step is the most powerful step on the journey because it allows us, in the soul consciousness, to bring in soul power that can help to manage the lower chakras.  But we can still be vulnerable to the pull of the world, even here.  Even as we begin to feel this soul power, we can still be caught up in these areas that were not completely cleared of the material pull; this selfish pull to the world, the thirst for pleasure and power in the human experience.  You can see how this can also lead us into a place of disturbance in our quest for true well-being.

2 Responses to Three Stages on the Journey to Spiritual Power

  1. Pingback: Meditation to Untie the Granthis | Chanmadhavi's Blog

  2. Henk says:


    In reading the message I wonder on what step I am at this moment. The message made me aware of what I worship and what keeps me occupied and then I am not sure on what stage I am in. A little bit of all stages, but not secure also on the higher stages.

    How can I tell on what stage I am in?

    All my love, Henk

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: