Great night of Shiva


Ahh this is the great night of Shiva, Mahashivratri. A night where devotees around the world observe fasting and various sacred rituals in honor of Shiva, the cosmic power of disintegration and dissolution in the Universe. It is the power that destroys sickness and ignorance leading to well-being and liberation. Many will take part in the all night vigil, praying for peace, love and harmony in our world.

I often think about what I wish to dissolve as I chant and what will take its place because I like to consciously experience this power in my Universe, you know how I like to make every experience personal :). It makes the night very exciting.

I’ll share with you how I practice. As I listen to Sri Vasudeva chant I focus on the Muladhara or base center, where the chant is in an undifferentiated, potential state, then observe as it rises through the second and third chakras, Swadhisthana and Manipura, pouring my wish and intentions into the chant. As the chant rises to the heart and brow  Anahata and Ajna chakras, I can express my love while observing the entire experience then I start to chant  giving voice to these multi-layers with the awareness of other beings in the world who also chanting. So the listening and the chanting is a full experience.

The program at the Blue Star center in Trinidad will start at 9:00pm EST join in if you can http://blue-star.org/home.htm

May we experience the many blessings of this great night… I bow to that Absolute reality out of which everything emerges, Om Namah Shivaya!

4 Responses to Great night of Shiva

  1. Pingback: Join in 40 Days of Retreat | Chanmadhavi's Blog

  2. Pingback: Mahashivratri – Great Night of Shiva « Chanmadhavi's Blog

  3. Pingback: Launch of the 40 days tonight | Chanmadhavi's Blog

  4. Victoria says:

    Namaskar Madhavi and as ever, thank you for this post. I found the part about thinking about what you want to dissolve as you chant and what you want to take its place particularly helpful. I thought about it beforehand and tried to be as conscious and connected to it as possible during the course of the evening. When I was able to do so, I found it very empowering and it certainly helped bring a different perspective and appreciation of the evening and how to harness its power.

    With all love and thanks
    Victoria xx

Leave a Reply

