Pondering the role of the spiritual guide


Sri Vasudeva says, “When you pursue the transformation of the “I”, the ego within you, through guidance, you will ultimately reach a state where the “I” is different. It is expanded, it feels connected to the Universe, it feels in touch with the Source.”

Can you share how do you use the presence of a spiritual teacher? What role does a guide play for you? He says “through guidance” the transformation of the ego occurs. What kind of guidance do you think he means? How have you experienced spiritual guidance in your life?

I find these to be important questions to ponder in understanding the role we give to the spiritual guide. We’ve talked a lot about conscious engagement and now I’d like to apply that concept to the guides we have in our lives. I’d really like to hear your point of view.

2 Responses to Pondering the role of the spiritual guide

  1. Henk says:

    Namaskar,

    “Can you share how do you use the presence of a spiritual teacher?” I use the presence of a teacher not by physical presence mostly but through words (reading or listening). This inspires me to be more aware and to grow in this awareness. By connecting to the teacher (by thought, by trying to be aware of his presence) I move a little deeper inside, more in state of observing and acting accordingly.

    “What role does a guide play for you?” A perfect role model indeed. Showing me that a certain awareness is possible. Showing me a possibility, THE possibility. Showing me the way like the word guide says. Not forcing me, but pointing in a certain direction in the many possibilities available to me. Doing so in such a loving and inspirational way.

    “What kind of guidance do you think he means?” The initial guidance I think would be the impulse of a master, to quick-start a journey. So that guidance comes from within and from outside. From there guiding from outside by example, by inspiration, by pointing in the right direction.

    “How have you experienced spiritual guidance in your life?” I have and it makes me think of the Guru-principle. That initially I depended only on the guidance of the sadguru, but now I can recognise more and more the guidance all around me. Anything can place me to a standstill and inspire me to broathen my awareness. To take me body consciousness to energy consciousness to a place deeper inside where I observe my energies from a vast space. My dog mirroring me when I’m restless and showing me to go inside. Hearing a bird and making me aware of the beauty of the vast creation I’m part of, letting love flow more. Hearing words from someone, expanding my awareness on a certain subject. This blog 🙂

    In all this, I also see my role in the Universe and being a guide and trying to perfect that role. It makes me humble and appreciative of all the guides in my being.

    All my love,

    Henk

  2. Marlene says:

    I use the presence of the spiritual teacher as an opportunity to learn about a more conscious way of ‘being’ and an opportunity to expand my awareness. It gives me the chance to go deeper inside and experience more of my true nature. I think the purpose of the spiritual guide is to awaken our own inner light.

    My spiritual teacher plays the role of the perfect ‘role model’ for me, what I aspire to be more like, because he leads by the example of his own life. He is unconditionally loving and he serves selflessly. For me, he is a source of knowledge, hope, inspiration and motivation.

    I am not sure exactly what he means when he says that “through guidance” the transformation of the ego occurs, but my thoughts on this are that it is by listening to both the outer guide and to our own inner guide, and acting according to the wisdom of both, that transformation of the ego can occur.

Leave a Reply

