Ajna Chakra-Support in Dealing with Lower Issues


We have talked about the impact  of images we hold in our minds. Yesterday’s conversation reminded me of this verse from the Bhagavad Gita, “While contemplating the objects of the senses, a person develops attachment for them, and from such attachment lust develops, and from lust, anger arises. From anger, delusion arises and from delusion bewilderment of memory. When memory is bewildered, intelligence is lost, and when intelligence is lost one falls down again into the material pool.” Ch. 2 v.62-63

As we expose ourselves to different images we start to develop cravings for them and when those cravings are not satisfied we get angry. The angrier we get, the more irrational the thoughts and we’re pulled down into darkness. How often in anger, because we have not gotten what we crave, we blame another and say to ourselves, “This person doesn’t care for me!” We forget all the loving that was part of the relationship.

We also said yesterday the Ajna chakra can support us in dealing with lower issues. A strong brow chakra can help us in this kind of self-reflection; in understanding what is behind our reactions.

Today the intention is to bring awareness of this process the mind follows when it loses its way and to take time to examine that process in our lives.

Tomorrow I will talk about how to bring the mind under greater control so that we can better manage our thoughts and emotions. The Ajna chakra is fascinating. Don’t you think?

3 Responses to Ajna Chakra-Support in Dealing with Lower Issues

  1. Henk says:

    Namaskar all,

    Interesting posts and a very inspiring goal, Prabhā. I recognize your goal and the struggle. And contemplating the word image in the message and how we get attached to them, I was thinking of an image I created for myself yesterday, inspired by previous messages. The image of saint or god, with many weapons/tools to deal in the outer and inner world. We spoke about how the ajna has different tools and I imagined to put my awareness in my vast inner space as a god with many arms, each arm holding a tool (focus, discrimination, reasoning, speaking from a vast silent space, charging up the body). With an “issue” yesterday (body feeling tired, thought coming up when listening to someone or touching someone) I thought of my god-image and struck away those issues. Keeping my awareness on this/my godness. It helped for me, attaching to a higher image. Can the whole process of anger and bewilderment of memory come from this attachment too? Even if I look at this god-image from a different space, looking at this god working in me?

    Thank you all for the inspiration of going deeper inside.

    All my love, Henk

  2. Marlene says:

    In reading your post, Prabha, I agree that staying detached even while using the senses, or enjoying the senses with detachment, is the real challenge and, in answer to your question, I believe we can use the intellect to assist. For example, I recently got caught up in “how I wanted things to be” in some renovations that we are currently undergoing when everything was not turning out as I had hoped. I knew I was ‘caught’ but I was having a hard time moving beyond it. Using the intellect, I tried to move to a place of greater perspective. I thought, “If I found out right now that I had a major illness, or one of my family had a major illness, I would suddenly feel no importance towards the outcome of these renovations.” That helped me. Surrendering the outcome to a Higher Power when I realized the outcome was beyond my control also helped. I felt less angst. And “opening up our view”, as you stated, helped me too, because then all of my focus was not be directed towards the one thing that was consuming me at the time. I look forward to tomorrow’s post to learn more about how to bring the mind under greater control to better manage our thoughts and emotions.

  3. Prabhā says:

    Namaskar Madhavi,

    First of all, thank you for writing all these wonderful posts, I really enjoy reading them! And I think you can continue writing until like a week before the 40 Days period, you will be our preparation :-)…

    The process you describe today on craving sense objects is fascinating… In coming back from Trinidad, I really realized that the material world was not going to make me happy… in the first days I would drive around town and feel like I was saying goodbye to all attachments I had had before, and now realized were quite useless… and I enjoyed this new sense of freedom…

    But then something interesting came… I actually needed new shoes and new clothes, so I had to go shopping… and to immerse myself in deciding whether I liked the shoes or clothes I was trying on, and attachments came up again… I did not want to spend a lot of money on something which I did not consider very important, but I do actually care about how I look, and I could also feeling the thrill of having something ‘new’… conflicts arose…

    Another interesting thing happened this weekend… I wanted to create a better energy in my house, and was inspired by the Divali-cleaning at the ashram, where we cleaned every little corner and made everything look beautiful… I felt very clearly how this created an amazing energy, which was of course the reason why we did it… So I started thinking what I could do in my house to make it more clean and beautiful… but soon enough I found my mind getting distracted in meditation thinking about my house, or even getting annoyed that I couldn’t finish all the things I had thought of in a short time :-)…

    So, shutting of our senses and spending the entire day in meditation is not possible for me, living in the ‘outer’ world… But staying detached, even while using the senses, or enjoying the senses with detachment, is the real challenge… Can we use the intellect for this? On first sight reasoning out the ‘non-importance’ does not always seem to help… but if we keep opening up our view, really looking at the bigger picture, it does create some kind of perspective that helps… using willpower, deciding what we really want in life, and strive for the higher goals, instead of getting caught in sense pleasures… this is my goal!

    Love,
    Prabhā (Kim)

Leave a Reply

