Healing Exercise -Part 3


One day I was walking down a busy shopping area, enjoying the hustle and bustle on the street. I saw a reflection of someone in a shop window and I was intrigued. That person attracted me. I wanted to get to know her better. As I got closer to the reflection I realized with a jolt, that person is me! I had to sit and process this experience. I walk around, in fact, I live with me every day. So I have the possibility of having a very interesting friend always with me. What kind of friend do I want to be to myself?

I don’t enjoy being with someone who complains a lot about what they don’t have or who envy’s others for what they have. Or people who are highly critical. I thought a lot about what I didn’t like and that helped me to figure what I really liked. I thought about the people whose company I  enjoyed and what I enjoyed about them. I decided I would be my own best friend. As an example I sing to myself  “hurray” for every tiny bit of growth in myself. I love being with me. 🙂

The way we talk to ourselves has a powerful impact on our energy level. I’d like to invite you to repeat the meditation exercise from yesterday. https://chanmadhavi.wordpress.com/2011/02/02/healing-exercise-part-2/

This time at the end of the exercise consider adding an affirmation like ‘I am strong’, ‘I am confident’, ’ I am powerful’.

Every time we hold the breath powerfully inside, we repeat the affirmation while keeping the whole body tense. Then release the breath but keeping a little tension in the belly area and tightly holding the knees throughout.

At the end of the exercise observe the effect on the mind. Did you feel that the affirmation heightened, that it actually helped your concentration? Did you feel  you could meditate for longer? Did the tiredness of the body disappear? Did  your stomach feel more comfortable, a little lighter … because it helps with digestion?

There is so much more I can say about healing, lots of exercises I can share that’s easier to learn when demonstrated in person. Perhaps next time we meet physically we can arrange a session where we can practice together. That would be fun don’t you think?

2 Responses to Healing Exercise -Part 3

  1. Henk says:

    Namaskar Madhavi,

    That would be very noce and fun indeed to practice in person.
    I experienced that an affirmation adds an extra dimension to the practice and with the focus on the brow the exercise seems effortlessly, needs almost no work and is easier to maintain during the day. With practice every day comes more mastery. I feel now that I’m getting to know Manipura and myself better and better every day.

    Thank you so much, Madhavi, for the inspiration.

    All my love, Henk

  2. Victoria says:

    Namaskar Madhavi

    Your energy leaps off the page and through my screen! I really look forward to practicing the techniques you outline in the blog and even more so when you are demonstrating in person. I find these posts very helpful as I strive to develop and deepen my focus and awareness, particularly during sitting meditation.

    In today’s post, I am very drawn to the question “what kind of friend do I want to be to myself?” It begs consideration and contemplation and encourages me to take the focus away from the external ‘lack’ and instead to what I can do within myself to empower myself. If part of that includes getting the best friend ever, then talk about being onto a winner!

    Love and thanks
    Victoria

Leave a Reply

