Moving from Limited to Expansive


We’ve been talking about the meditation practice and using the analogy of going on vacation. I’d like to continue in this vein. When we go to a new place we are changed by the experience. The more we explore that place, the greater the impact on us. It is the same when we journey within. Our experience of ourselves, or what we call the “I” is profoundly changed. Meditation is really shifting the “I” from limited, contracted awareness to boundless, expansive awareness.

You see my mind can be quiet and I can still be in limited awareness; I can still be in selfishness. I can be in the moment and still be limited. For example I can be fully in the moment while I’m eating, not wanting to share my food and my mind can be very quiet. Or I can be in a selfish state of loving when I seek the best for myself, my family, my friends, not caring for those outside my circle. You see what I mean about moving from the limited “I” to the expansive?

Meditation is going deep inside, touching a space of incredible joy, love, peace, intuition; an enjoyment of our expansive nature. And just like when we come back from vacation we love to share our pictures, tell stories about our adventures so too with meditation; when we come out of meditation we express that expansive nature in all that we are. Our very presence is transformed.

Doesn’t it make you excited about the meditation practice?

3 Responses to Moving from Limited to Expansive

  1. I really like your blog, the way you create posts and topic you covered are purely amazing. I know how hard it is to get the visitors involved. I have decided to include your website to my blog list.

    • chanmadhavi says:

      Dear Wedding Rings
      As a fellow blogger your words of appreciation mean a great deal to me. Thank you very much. I’m glad to know that you are part of our conversations. I shall keep you in mind as I write. 🙂 I agree that participation from readers enriches the whole experience.

      I visited your site wedding rings. It certainly gave me a better appreciation of rings :). Wish you lots of inspiration to keep on writing. I hope to hear from you again.
      luv
      madhavi

  2. Henk says:

    Thank you, Madhavi. Who wouldn’t want to meditate after reading your message?
    Just an hour ago I asked my wife if she would like to meditate too. Maybe, she answered 🙂

    When I meditate in the morning, it is not a hard thing to get up at five in the morning. I wake up exited to meditate again. It’s like going on holiday AND coming home again at the same time. It is the best place I know to be, at this time. And it is the place/state I seek to stay at during the day.

    Thank you for sharing the joy of meditation.

    All my love, Henk

Leave a Reply

