The Power of Prayer, Mantra and Affirmations


A wonderful message from Sri Vasudeva today. Here is a small excerpt:

In the soul’s feeling of separation from its Higher (or Spiritual) Self, prayer is a natural response, seeking help.  But we also need to see the Universe’s response to our prayer and to use it effectively.  Prayer can take on many stages.  In ignorance, thinking that happiness is outside, we pray for material things.  After achieving these from  good deeds and by grace, we realise that the material things are not all, on the journey to happiness.  Then we begin to pray for other things: pray to understand more; for peace of mind, and; for freedom inside.  When there is spiritual awakening – when the soul begins to feel a little more – the prayer changes to a certain extent; to praise; to thanksgiving; to gratitude.

Ultimately, when prayer reaches its highest point, it becomes just staying in the Presence; acknowledging the Presence, and; knowing that all things will come in the perfect way.  The ultimate prayer is: “I stay centred in You.  I stay centred in your Great Power, knowing that You will guide me perfectly, and that all things will come to me in the perfect way.  I give thanks.”  Prayer takes you to union with that Great Power, and giving thanks.  A natural follow up will be: “May I be the perfect instrument of your Divine Will in this human experience.”  When we reach such a level, it is natural just to want to give.

Affirmations centre us in a certain awareness and as we repeat them, they holds us there, keeping our minds strong on the journey.  They align us to our vision and as we keep on repeating them, they energise us, helping us towards our goal.    When you repeat an affirmation, it is a powerful tool to energise us; to centre us in that consciousness; to give  the power to attract positive responses from our Universe, co-creating that path to freedom.   There are affirmations of all kinds: healing affirmations; affirmations for success; affirmations for creating harmony in a space.  The common thread of all of these (prayer, mantras, affirmations) is to hold the mind in a positive space and to energise us on the journey.

7 Responses to The Power of Prayer, Mantra and Affirmations

  1. Dave Graham says:

    I studied a book about a monk who prayed a specific prayer as often as 40,000 times thru-out the day, every day. Then I edited my own prayer and used a tally counter to keep track of my daily, weekly and monthly prayers. This works particularly well, especially when I have the discipline to begin using the system as soon as I wake up, then as often as possible.

    Being an addict, my mind was conditioned to go to ego, and fast fix rewards/comforters like food, lust, anger and blame. Making a decision to go into prayer puts me in a place of healing allowing me to feel what I need to feel.

    I’ve discovered that after a while I get beyond mere intellectual common sense to a point of detachment from the desire to have what I “think” I need.

    Whatever way one commits to it, constant prayer/mantras/affirmation, even if seemingly mechanical leads to constant evaluation regarding the quality of one’s personal belief system.

    Random blessings, prayers for freedom from fear, and mental gratitude lists are all free. How often do most people go there?

    Dave 2 Wolves.

    • Madhavi says:

      Dave 2 Wolves,

      Thank you for your lovely words. I find these words to be powerful where you say, “Making a decision to go into prayer puts me in a place of healing allowing me to feel what I need to feel.” What also resonates is, “Whatever way one commits to it, constant prayer/mantras/affirmation, even if seemingly mechanical leads to constant evaluation regarding the quality of one’s personal belief system. ”

      Wishing you a wonderful day!

  2. Carien says:

    Guruji is saying; “prayer, mantras and affirmations as tools to help us on the journey: to protect the mind; to energise our being, and; lead us towards accomplishing our vision.”

    I feel these tools help me first to focus on what I really want , the direction, and secondly to surrender to ” what is”, accepting that all is ,what is should be. This is like a soul shower, a purification a coming home.
    I loved this talk.

  3. Veerendra Singh says:

    Namaskar all,
    What really inspired me from this message is that prayer, affirmations and mantras can go deeper into the heart where we can have a deeper relationship with God our higherself when we surrender and acknowledge a higher power then it becomes just staying in that divine presence and giving thanks.

  4. Henk says:

    Two sentences made me stop and think:

    – Thoughts as vehicles: it made me think “why do I have thoughts?” What’s the use of them? If a thought is a vehicle than a thought needs to take me somewhere. Where do I want to go? To place of peace, love and harmony. Which thoughts take me there and which take me away from that place? Put’s a new perfective on what a thought is and what thoughts I should give attention to and which thought can/should I create.

    – The ultimate is to become exactly what you are saying, repeating or intending. I think is so feasible by the manner how Guruji explained the way a prayer/mantra/affirmation can lead. I just need to stay on track.

  5. Marlene says:

    There is a lot in today’s message worthy of further review and contemplation, but two things I particularly liked were: First, the idea that mantras are a ‘gift’ on the spiritual path, and secondly, he said repeating an affirmation “is a powerful tool to energize you, to centre you in that consciousness; and to give you the power to attract positive responses from your Universe, co-creating a path to freedom”. Just thinking about that -“the power to attract positive responses from our Universe co-creating a path to freedom” – how amazing that is! So the Universe has given us the gift of mantras to help us attract positive responses from it and then works together with us to help us reach freedom. That is an uplifting thought for me! :-)

    • Henk says:

      Thank you, Marlene for pointing these things out. When re-reading the message I “looked” at the points you made and they made a deeper impact. It is so wonderous and marvellous how our Universe works.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 420 other followers

